Why Adopt a Stray??


Well, b’coz it is morally good for human beings to be kind to Animals!! 

We all have choices, and  I don’t want to push my views on anyone … but there are ppl out there who think that you cannot teach old dogs new tricks … and adopting a dog is a waste of time and energy. Well, so far i have read, that’s never an issue .. if u take a bit of time out and invest that on a homeless pet, you can easily make him learn tricks. In fact, he will learn new stuff way faster than a new pup.

Cats are the same, my stray cat is far more loving and active than my own cat (Not saying i don’t love my Persian) but that is the truth.

I think on the whole its a wonderful experience, in fact  i think that helping out helpless animals make us more human!!!

And even if you cannot adopt a pet, i think you can still  make a difference: For e.g

  • You can feed a hungry dog or a cat standing outside your house.
  • You can place fresh water bowls outside.
  • You can call animal rescue service if you see an injured homeless pet.
  • You can donate food to our local animal shelter.
  • You can donate some medicines to a Vet who looks after injured homeless animals.
  • You can always stop someone abusing an animal in front of you.
Now few facts on how animals are treated in our part of the world:
  • They are kicked and thrown stones at.
  • They get hit by a car and left alone to die on the street.
  • They are poisoned.
  • They are shot.
  • They die of hunger.
*******************
How to adopt a Pet?
If you find a pet and you have decided on adopting him here are few things you need to do:
  • Take him directly to a vet and get him checked.
  • Get him vaccinated.
  • Get him/her spayed. (Few vets do that for no cost – just for strays)
  • For at least few weeks give him time to understand you & your family. And to make him gain your trust.
    • You see most animals are abused outside and that’s why they think that when you raise your hands, you are about to hit them & not pet them. So give him some time.
  • And most important thing, keep on reading about them. The more you understand your pets behavior the more rewarding it is in the end.

********************

Ask from a Stray … how tough this world is for them: And then think if u should adopt them or not … 

IT IS AS IF LIFE HAD SAID, ‘I AM GOING TO SEND YOU INTO A WORLD OF CRUELTY. I SHALL MAKE YOU SENSITIVE TO PAIN, FEAR, HEAT, COLD, HUNGER AND STARVATION. IN THIS WORLD OF CRUELTY I SHALL MAKE YOU DEFENSELESS. IN ADDITION I SHALL STRIKE YOU DUMB.’ THIS IS THE KIND OF WORLD THAT ANIMALS ARE BORN INTO.” – GRACE JOHNSON

*******************

You don’t pick your stray …. your Stray picks you!!!! (Two Most Inspiring Stories): 

What’s four when you have three?!

Here are the stories on my precious angels who make my life complete: Zoe was a local’s dog who nearly starved to death in his “care”. Her normal weight was 72 lbs.& she was 35lbs. when we got her. She was skin & bones but, as you can see, filled out nicely.

Shadow was a teeny pup, which I thought was a kitten, when I saw him running in the rain. I jumped out of the car & clapped for him to come & was surprised to see a little puppy. I tried for days to find his owner, but he became the joy and love of my life.

Jacques “Sasquatch” (because he had huge feet) was left in an abandoned house by owners who moved. We think he had been teased mercilessly by whomever, because it took a year for him to accept that when you put your hand on him and didn’t move it, it wasn’t reason to go for you. He became such a calm, loving, clown of a dog.

Finally, Precious was from the North Shore Animal League in NY. I wanted a docile female, so when she flopped over when I went to touch her, I knew she was the one. We took her home, fell in love, and then my brother-in-law visited and she went after his legs like crazy. Oops! She was ours now, so others had to learn to stay out of her way. We finally learned how to gently help her accept everyone and she turned out to be loved all around. It was as simple as making sure you absolutely ignored her until she came to you.

Please adopt or save a stray! They are the most blessed gifts you can imagine!

Susan
Winston, GA
(Story taken from http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com)

“Mojo” the Rescue Cat with the Biggest Heart”:

I grew up in a family that always had pets. We frequently rescued cats and dogs and lost creatures in need of a home. I was living on my own and it just didn’t feel right, so I went to my local shelter in search of a feline companion. I was given some treats to give to the cats and there she was, pawing at the cage door. I offered her the treat, but she just kept pawing at the door. They let me take her out and she was so comfortable being held in my arms. I knew she was the one. She was 2 1/2 and had been in the shelter for three months, but was still so happy, I almost cried. I moved back in with my family and she quickly became a permanent fixture. She loves to be loved and can play all day. She plays tag and plays with anything she can. In my family, when a cat gets very hyper and playful, we call it “gettin’ the mojo”, so the name seemed perfect for her since she was always running around playing with something. She loves meeting new people and can melt anyone’s heart. She’ll walk in front of the door so I won’t leave and she can put on the cutest faces to get me to stay. My whole family adores her and life just wouldn’t be the same if she wasn’t there. She always wants to know what you’re up to and doesn’t mind be carried around on your shoulder so she can be involved in everything. If you start patting her toosh, she’ll give you an hour to stop. She’s sweet and cute and so loving. I got way more than just a pet when I took her home that day.

Melinda Schulz
MERRITT ISLAND, FL
(Story taken from http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com)

2 Comments

Filed under Clearing Misconceptions, Help Animals, Salute to Animal Lovers

2 responses to “Why Adopt a Stray??

  1. haya

    We all should work for this cause ….

    if you cant adopt them, the least we all can do is help them …. provide them food and water. God bless you Khumar .

Leave a comment